Editorial draft · Not for publication
How to read a wedding venue's guest limit
Compare the room, seating setup and event restrictions behind a venue's capacity before building your shortlist.
This AI-assisted draft has not received human editorial review for this version.
A venue’s guest limit only helps if it describes the space and setup you need. Compare the ceremony, meal and dancing arrangements separately, then check whether a restriction applies to the whole event.
Ask these questions before shortlisting
- Which room or outdoor area does the number describe?
- Is it for standing guests, seated dining, a ceremony, or dinner with a dance floor?
- Does an event-wide restriction set a lower limit?
- What happens to the layout in bad weather?
- Is the published amount a rental fee, a deposit, a minimum spend or an extra charge?
The Austin examples below preserve those distinctions. A blank capacity means we have not verified it from the sources reviewed. It does not mean the venue is unsuitable.
Keep the quote separate from the public example
Treat each fee as one part of a question to ask the venue. Match the duration, guest allowance and inclusions before comparing it with another offer. We have not calculated wedding totals from these observations.
Record your preferred setup and the questions still open. Confirm both directly with the venue before making a commitment.
Reading venue capacity
These figures come from the linked sources and help you ask better questions. Confirm the setup and terms with the venue.
Zilker Botanical Garden
Oak Grove
- Configuration
- standing room
- Event type
- general rental
- Maximum guests
- 150
- The same guidebook limits private events to 100 people across all rented spaces; the 150 standing-room figure is not a private-event booking limit.
Oak Grove
- Configuration
- theater
- Event type
- general rental
- Maximum guests
- 100
Oak Grove
- Configuration
- banquet tables
- Event type
- general rental
- Maximum guests
- 100
- Current all-in wedding quote, taxes, date availability and seasonal conditions are unknown.
Event-wide limits
private event: maximum 100 guests
Price observations
Oak Grove wedding/reception rental
$450 · Listed fee
4-hour rental period
Conditions: 4-hour minimum; Private events are limited to 100 people venue-wide under the same guidebook
Includes: Oak Grove rental period
Excludes: Refundable damage deposit $425; Staff setup/takedown $240 for 4 hours; Event staffing $60/hour with 2 staff minimum; Maintenance fee $250; Refundable alcohol deposit $330 when applicable; Additional staffing $30/hour/staff for events over 65 people
Unknowns: Taxes and all-in wedding total are unknown.
UMLAUF Sculpture Garden + Museum
covered terrace and lawns
- Configuration
- seated dinner
- Event type
- private wedding reception
- Maximum guests
- 250
- Lawns can be tented for additional coverage.
Ceremony Arbor
- Configuration
- not specified
- Event type
- wedding ceremony
- Maximum guests
- 200
Garden
- Configuration
- not specified
- Event type
- intimate wedding ceremony
- Maximum guests
- 25
- Package includes admission for 15 guests; additional guests are permitted up to 25 total at an additional fee.
- Full private wedding rate table is not exposed in accessible text; full wedding quote is unknown.
Price observations
Intimate wedding ceremony
$500 · Listed fee
up to 2 hours
Conditions: During Museum hours; Reservation window includes setup, ceremony/event time and cleanup; The garden remains open to the public; this package does not provide exclusive access.
Includes: Garden ceremony and photos during Museum hours; Admission for up to 15 guests
Excludes: Additional guests beyond 15; Crenshaw Room; Setup and cleanup services; Ceremony chairs cost extra
Unknowns: Taxes and complete event total are not established in this pilot.
Intimate wedding ceremony with Crenshaw Room
$950 · Listed fee
up to 4 hours
Conditions: During Museum hours; Reservation window includes setup, ceremony/event time and cleanup; The garden remains open to the public; this package does not provide exclusive access.
Includes: Garden ceremony and photos during Museum hours; Crenshaw Room use; Admission for up to 15 guests
Excludes: Additional guests beyond 15; Setup and cleanup services; Ceremony chairs cost extra
Unknowns: Taxes and complete event total are not established in this pilot.
Intimate ceremony additional guest
$15 · Listed fee
per additional guest
Conditions: Applies beyond included 15 guests; Maximum 25 guests total
Includes: One additional guest admission
Barr Mansion
Farmstead
- Configuration
- seated dinner
- Event type
- wedding reception
- Maximum guests
- 280
- Open-aired pavilion; winter walls can enclose the space.
Farmstead
- Configuration
- not specified
- Event type
- wedding ceremony
- Maximum guests
- 300
Ballroom
- Configuration
- seated dinner, no dance floor
- Event type
- wedding reception
- Maximum guests
- 224
Ballroom
- Configuration
- seated dinner with dancing
- Event type
- wedding reception
- Maximum guests
- 175
- Current postal address requires verification; current rental rates, food and beverage minimums, taxes, service charges and package totals are unknown.
Price observations
Wedding booking deposit
$7,000 · Deposit
booking deposit
Conditions: Final balance due 4 weeks before event date
Excludes: This is not an all-in wedding total
Unknowns: Current package and total price are unknown.
Outdoor lawn reception late-night breakdown fee
$1,000 · Listed fee
fee
Conditions: Applies to fully outdoor receptions on the lawn; Late-night breakdown; The FAQ excludes ceremonies and cocktail hours from this fee.
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Capacity not verified in this pilot.
- Official public wedding/event capacity, named rental spaces, rental rates, setup dimensions, duration and catering conditions were not accessible in the checked source.
- Admission prices on the ticketing page are not rental prices and were excluded.